10 Reasons I Love NaNoWriMo – NaBloPoMo, Day 1

Old Books

Last year, I entered NaNoWriMo for the very first time. I’d heard about it the year prior but hadn’t entered it. Last year, I resolved to do so, and the end result was my third novel, Pressure Point. Since that moment, I’ve fallen in love with NaNoWriMo. In fact, I loved it so much that I entered both sessions of Camp NaNoWriMo, & I’ve been looking forward to NaNoWriMo ever since. Here are ten reasons that I love NaNoWriMo.

1. It’s plain fun.

Writing a novel is fun. Competition is fun. Using your talents & abilities is fun. Creating things is fun. Challenges are fun. Doing something amazing that you might not think you can do is fun. Working hard at something & ending up with something absolutely beautiful is fun. Put all these things together and you end up with NaNoWriMo.

2. It’s inspiring.

It’s inspiring to me what NaNoWriMo does for people. There are countless people out there that have always wanted to write a novel, but they think they don’t have the time or talent to do so. “I’ll do it someday.” They say. But someday never comes. At least not until they decide to enter NaNoWriMo. That’s one of my favorite things about NaNoWriMo – it makes dreams come true. It empowers people to do things they don’t think they can do. NaNoWriMo inspires people to write the story they’ve always had inside of them.

3. The community

When you’re a part of NaNoWriMo, you have the ability to chat with other writers and writers-to-be. You can encourage them, discuss how many words you’ve written, and talk about the stories you are writing. When you’re a part of NaNoWriMo, you’re part of something much larger.

4. It’s a challenge

I think a month is a good amount of time to write a novel in. It’s long enough that you actually have time to write a novel, yet short enough that it’s challenging. Because of these factors, you don’t have time to procrastinate. You don’t have time to tell yourself that you can’t do this. You just have to write.

5. It’s just a good excuse to write a novel

Not that I need an excuse to write one. But NaNoWriMo is just a good motivation to get off my butt & write one of the novels I’ve wanted to work on. NaNoWriMo is a good reason to work diligently on the same book & to work on it until it’s complete. When it’s NaNoWriMo season, I have no question as to what type of project I should work on next.

So, now you know why I love NaNoWriMo, which is one of my favorite things about November!

 

Happy Writing!

Give Me Your Three Cents

