The Help by Kathryn Stockett | Book Review

The Help by Kathryn Stockett

 

What I Thought: The Help was inspiring, eye opening, and educational. The characters were all very vivid; they seemed like they were people I really knew. The book was also a page turner, and it seemed like I couldn’t read fast enough because I really wanted to see what happened. There were many moments that I loved so much I got chills, and it was very interesting learning what life was like in 1960’s Mississippi.

The Good: This book was inspiring. I really loved the way Aibileen was the motherly figure in Mae Mobley’s life, as well as the interactions between Minny and Celia, and Skeeter’s determination to achieve her dreams and do her part to change the world. I also really loved the way that many characters ended up being different than you initially thought of them as being, and the various aspects of the different character’s personalities, both their strengths and their flaws.

The Bad: The book was excellent and there was little I would have changed. The only thing I can think of is that the author should have brought up Aibileen’s son more towards the end of the book, to show how she was not only helping to improve the lives of other maids and other African Americans in the community, but completing her son’s unfinished dream as well.

Conclusion: I give this book 9/10 stars. It was definitely an inspiring and intriguing feel-good read, and if you haven’t read it yet, I definitely recommend it.

 

Give Me Your Three Cents

