My Favorite Books

Old Books

Books are one of my favorite things in the entire world. Especially old books – they smell so wonderful & I would love to know all they have seen & experienced. The stories books hold take me on adventures to places, times, and worlds that I wouldn’t get to see otherwise, & into the minds and company of people I wouldn’t meet or know without books. Books are vital to my life, and anywhere I am, I like to be surrounded by books. It seems like there is never enough time to read all the books that I’d like to read (& favorites that I’d like to re-read!). Right now, I’m reading Holes by Louis Sachar (for about the billionth time; it’s been one of my favorites since I was 10 years old) and The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Graham (for the first time). I’m about halfway through The Wind in the Willows & I am so in love with it. I think it’s one of the loveliest books I’ve ever read, and by the time I’m done reading it, I think it will also make its way onto my favorite books list. Soon, I’m also going to read The Help by Katherine Stockett and Walden by Henry David Thoreau, neither of which I’ve read before.

While there are many books that I throughly enjoy & love, here’s a list of my current favorites. There are probably quite a few books that are missing from this list, but it’s all that I can think of for now! Feel free to share your favorite books (or books that you think I might like – I’m always looking for new stuff to read!) in the comments section below.

1. The Complete Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

2. The Agatha Christie books (particularly her book “End House”)

3. The Harry Potter Series by J. K. Rowling

4. Holes by Louis Sachar

5. Chasing Vermeer by Blue Balliett

6. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo

7. How to be an Explorer of the World by Keri Smith

8. Jenny, Sam, and the Invisible Hildegarde by Mary Kennedy

9. Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill

10. Babe by Dick King-Smith

4 thoughts on “My Favorite Books

    1. Congratulations on finishing it! Yes, it’s very long (actually the longest book I’ve ever read, & that’s saying something!) but it is worth every minute you spend reading it. What is your favorite thing about Les Miserables or your favorite scene(s)?

      1. As morbid as it sounds, I’ve always like the way that Jean Valjean dies in the book. It’s lovely to have such a point of contentment with death in a character.

      2. I agree completely. While it’s morbid as well, I also like the part where Javert commits suicide. It has the same kind of closure/finality that Valjean’s death has. I’ve always felt sorry for Javert, but his realization that his whole life, he’s been wrong about good and bad, is both startling to him and important. Les Miserables is certainly has many sad parts, but I still love it, even though normally I don’t like sad books. I think one reason that I enjoyed it was that, even throughout all the sad parts, there was always an underlying ember of hope and love that illuminated even the darkest parts of the book.

Give Me Your Three Cents

