NaPoWriMo – Day 22 – The Way Things Were

The Way Things Were

the way things were
the way things were
just to think of where I was a year ago
& relief relief
I’ve come so far
I’ve made progress –
something new to see

a year ago
standing there on the driveway
listening to the drummer down the street practicing
the night like a blanket
peaceful & silent & safe
looking around at streelight illuminated streets
& smiling then
& looking at how far I’d come
& now me standing here
looking at how far I’ve come
how far I’ve come
in only a year
remembering remembering
the way things were
on that day
that everything began to change

© 2013 Ashlee Craft

Give Me Your Three Cents

