NaPoWriMo – Day 14 – Opening My Eyes for the First Time

Opening My Eyes for the First Time

today is like opening my eyes for the first time / everything seems bright & new & beautiful, & I begin on the journey of Today with a bright smile upon my face
as I walk thru the passion-filled passages into secret gardens unknown to me before this moment, I stop to regard the scenery around me & smell the roses that line the pathway / everything seems perfect & wonderful & I know deep down that it truly is
I suddenly know what it’s like to be strong / I suddenly know what it’s like to fly free / & for just one moment I catch a glimpse of a beautiful future as I look into the clear crystal waters of the lake & see my reflection shining back at me
I walk on further, smelling more roses & listening intently to bird songs / bright bold colors of life everywhere I look / seeing for the first time / it’s like seeing for the first time
& when night falls, I no longer am afraid / when night falls, I no longer see darkness, but the stars twinkling & sparkling overhead / & I realize they’ve always been there; I just never looked up to see them before / the stars guide my way thru the passageways & corridors, & I no longer feel lost
everything I need to know is suddenly revealed to me
I suddenly understand myself
better than ever before
it’s like seeing for the first time
seeing
© 2013 Ashlee Craft

Give Me Your Three Cents

