NaPoWriMo – Day 8 – I’m So Much Stronger Now

I’m So Much Stronger Now

looking back upon each time I stumbled
each time I fell
I’m so much stronger now

what would have leveled me
what would have made me want to give up
what would have broken me
only causes me to stumble now
& then I always get back up

I’ve seen the darkness many times before
but I’ve seen the sunlight even more
& that’s why I know
I’ll always see the sunlight
once again

& so when I stumble
& land in the dirt
I might lay there for a while
& consider why I fell
& how to prevent falling in the future
& what I want to do once I stand up once more
& so I pick myself up
brush the dust from my clothes
& don’t take my stumbles
too seriously
because I know
I’ll always get back up
& I might fall
but I’m not going to break
because I’ve climbed mountains many times before
& I know what it feels like to stand on top in the sunlight
I might fall
but I’m not going to fail
because I’m so much stronger now

© 2013 Ashlee Craft

Give Me Your Three Cents

