NaPoWriMo – Day 6 – Cocoon

Cocoon

hiding in a cocoon / waiting to see the sun / waiting to feel its warm rays upon my skin / waiting to see its light illuminating my pathway / but inside the cocoon there are no maps & no one to talk to except to myself & I don’t always know all the answers / inside the warm darkness of the cocoon, where I’ve been for so long that I’ve almost forgotten what it’s like to breathe the fresh air & dance in the sunlight / I’ve almost forgotten what it’s like to be free / but deep down inside I remember, & that’s why I have hope that someday soon, I’ll see the sunlight again / but sometimes, I want to remain inside the cocoon / sometimes I just feel like hiding / I don’t want to face the world / I don’t want to face anyone else / I don’t want to face myself / & yet, I know that I must / I can stay inside this cocoon for a little while / when I’m scared or upset I can hide here / but that’s the thing / you can hide all you want but you’ve got to face yourself / & the funny thing is, the more alone you are the more you’ve got to face the person you are / when you’re alone in the cocoon there’s no hiding / you can hide from the world & everyone in it / but you can’t hide from yourself / & without anything else to face, you’ve still got to face something, & yourself is all there is / so this hiding’s not really hiding / it’s really the beginning of a great journey

© 2013 Ashlee Craft

Give Me Your Three Cents

