October 16, 2012

Hi everyone! This is the new format for my posts, where I will spotlight things that I find interesting, awesome, epic, & amusing, as well as including updates and little things about me & my life.

♥ I love this Shakespeare quote: “We are such stuff as dreams are made on.” I love Shakespeare, & the more I read his plays & poems, the more I love his work. I’ve read a few of his plays so far – The Tempest (I’ve read it three or four times!), A Midsummer Night’s Dream, & All’s Well That Ends Well. Very soon, I’ll be reading Hamlet & The Twelfth Night! What’s your favorite Shakespeare play – let me know in the comments section below!

♥ On Sunday I watched the epic jump from the edge of space live on TV. It was pretty suspenseful and I hoped things would turn out as planned. Thankfully, Felix Baumgartner’s jump was a success & he landed perfectly on two feet. It was really thrilling to think that someone was falling that fast, and of how he must have felt doing so. I also thought it was really cool that all of this happened exactly 65 years after Chuck Yeager broke the speed of sound!

♥ Over the weekend I watched the first Halloweentown movie, which is probably my favorite Halloween movie. I’ve loved it ever since I was a kid and my family and I watch it every year. It’s the best film in the Halloweentown series, although the second one is pretty good as well.

♥ Over the past few weeks, I finally got my sewing machine up & running! I’m so excited about that because most of my attempts to sew prior to recently have all turned out to be epic fails. Finally I figured out how to use it properly (I kept making an error that resulted in the thread getting jammed) & now I just want to sew everything! I made a skirt out of an old dress, as well as a bed skirt out of fabric I had sitting around for a long time (I’m sure that if you’re a sewer, you have some [in other words, an inordinate amount] of fabric that you’ve kept around waiting for the right project to present itself), and a quilt. So many things to sew, sew little time! (yes, pun intended!)

♥ Baby sloths are cute enough. But wet baby sloths are even cuter!

♥ GREEN TIP OF THE DAY: Unplug chargers (like cell phone & laptop chargers), as even when they’re not charging something, they still draw just as much energy. They’re called energy vampires for a reason, and unlike Halloween vampires, they hang around ALL YEAR LONG. So just remember to unplug them when you’re done, and you’ll be doing something simple to help save the planet! It all counts!

Have a fantastic day!

– Ashlee Craft 🙂

Give Me Your Three Cents

