My Loyal Friend

Post a Day May: Day 2

This is Sparky, my two year old Shih-Tzu/Chihuahua/Boston Terrier mix. I’ve had him since he was three months old, & he has been my loyal companion ever since. Every time he goes outside, he has to bring one of his toys out with him to carry around in his mouth (but sometimes, he sets the toy down & forgets about it, & when I encourage him to bring it it, he ignores me & I have to bring it in).

Some of Sparky’s favorite things to do are eating, sleeping, snuggling on the sofa, snuggling under the covers in my bed, eating rawhides, eating, playing with soft fuzzy toys, eating some more, thinking about eating, waiting to eat, hoping to eat, dreaming about eating, going for walks, doing doggie agility, being near his family, & eating (did I mention eating?) 🙂

Sparky enjoys doing tricks because he finds them fun & challenging. He doesn’t mind learning them either, as long as there’s food involved (his favorite treat is chicken, although he’s not picky, by any means). Currently, he knows how to sit, lie down, sit up, & shake paws on command, although he knows how to do a lot of other things which are tricks, like getting on the sofa when I tell him to or bringing his toy back inside. He also knows how to hold a toy on top his nose when I tell him to wait, then when I say he can grab it, he moves his head so the  toy falls off & grabs it, often times before it even hits the ground!

He really enjoys his food, which is a natural diet consisting of chicken, rice, vegetables, & a vitamin supplement. He has been eating this ever since I got him & enjoys it immensely.

Sparky loves playing with his toys, especially soft squeaky toys & cooked beef marrow bones. He also loves if I put an old sock over my hand and make the sock puppet hide his toys underneath of it.

For the most part, Sparky is happy & fun-loving, except when it comes to grooming. He hates all types of grooming, particularly baths, as he has an extreme dislike for water.

When all is said & done, his very favorite thing is simply being near my family & I. It doesn’t matter to him what we’re doing, as long as we’re near him. Still, he loves nothing more than snuggling with us, whether it’s on our laps or on the couch next to us or snuggled amongst the covers of my bed, where he drifts off to sleep.

When I got Sparky, it was more than just acquiring a dog. It was gaining a best friend, a constant companion who would walk beside me down every road & pathway of life; a soulmate. Sparky is my baby, & I love him more than words could ever say.

Please share your pet stories below. I’d love to hear about your furry friends & how their companionship enriches your life. 🙂

Have a fantastic day!

2 thoughts on “My Loyal Friend

  1. Sparky is so cute! 😀 I have a malamute/husky/wolf mix named Jerome who we got from rescue shelter when he was 4. He is now 14 and still believes he is a tiny puppy. He adores food and the couch. He is an extremely loving, happy and cuddly dog! Love him to bits. What would we do without our dogs? 🙂

Give Me Your Three Cents

